A Holiday Message to my Trans Siblings and Queer Cousins

Dear sibs and cousins,

In this time of darkness and cold (everywhere in the continental USA except parts of Florida and Texas), I just want you to know that you are loved. You are worthy. “You fulfill your purpose just by being” as a former professor of mine once said.

I know that this time of year can be quite difficult, especially for those of us used to large family gatherings and loving environments. Many of us must enter one (or more) of these gatherings, hiding some aspect of who we are in order to gain access. Many of us are denied access entirely for living our truth. Many of us remember fondly (or not so fondly) going to the house of an extended family member and rituals of presents, food, gratitude, love.

And for all of us, even those who do not have those memories, I hold such a depth of love in my heart.

I have nothing that I can truly say to make this time of year easier. All I can say, sibs and cuz, is that I see you as you are. I acknowledge the wonder in me of who you are. I hold love for you and the person who you are.

Never forget that through the bonds of kinship-by-circumstance, you have a sibling or a cousin who is firmly in your corner and who firmly loves you for your complexities.

Happy Channukah (or whatever holiday you prefer or just happy ‘the days are starting to get longer now’),

~Fluffy

About Michael Robinson

An eclectic person living in a world rife with binaries, opposition, anger and pain and trying to find the spectra, love, happiness and catharsis within.
This entry was posted in Gender, Identity, Orientation, queer, QUILTBAG. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

