“Sorry I’ve Been Gone” song and dance

I sit here in the holiday daze,
midway through the winter break,
I’ve got a paper to write
(due “before the new year”)
and dishes to do,
still I find myself here.

I’ve neglected this blog
far too often and easy
in pursuit of my work
my classes and eases.
I simply have no excuse
save no time for pleases.

(Was that a real word?
I haven’t got a clue
I know what it’s meant for
I know how it’s used
but that way’s not in a dictionary
maybe this line’s a ruse)

I can’t promise regularity
I can’t promise depth
I can only promise dearth
Of lassitude and pain
while I create a place
where intellect reigns.

I don’t know if I’m smart
I don’t know if I’m provocative
I’m not sure that I’m not speaking
and being pointlessly evocative.
All I know is I’m here
and I’m feeling talkative.

About Michael Robinson

An eclectic person living in a world rife with binaries, opposition, anger and pain and trying to find the spectra, love, happiness and catharsis within.
This entry was posted in Introduction, Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

